WSBK: Rea takes victory in gripping Assen opener

Rea race one
Rea held off the field to take his third Assen victory in a row. Photo: KRT

Kawasaki Racing Team’s Jonathan Rea won a thrilling opening race of the weekend in Holland as his team-mate crashed out and Nicky Hayden secured his debut WSBK podium.

Former world champion Sykes stormed from pole position to take first position in the first corner ahead of Rea and Davide Guigliano, and the front field began to pull away from the rest.

Aruba.IT Racing’s Guigliano was unable to keep the pace up with the leaders as he lost three positions through the Gert Timmer chicane. Meanwhile Rea was up and taking the lead in the first corner as Sykes made a mistake, with championship leader Chaz Davies moving up into third position.


The front three began to break away and there was nothing between them, which saw Davies take the lead towards the end of the fourth lap. Pata Yamaha’s Sylvain Guintoli’s bad luck continued as he crashed out with 17 laps to go. 


The fight for the victory continued as Rea moved up to take the lead but sent his ZX-10R wide, with home hero Michael van der Mark slipped up into a podium position.

With fifteen laps to go the front five were able to break away and stormed away for a tense battle for the podium positions. However five soon became four and Sykes was the second victim of the Gert Timmer chicane and crashed out of the race with 13 laps to go, luckily the championship contender was able to walk away from the crash.




Following his dominance at Aragon, Davies led the way for a few laps and began to break away, but Rea didn’t let him pull away and grasped the lead back.

With three laps left Rea took charge of the lead ahead of van der Mark and Davies, who both had the pace to take the victory. Drama struck on the penultimate lap as van der Mark crashed out of second position in front of his home fans.

The race began to calm down as Rea pulled a large gap in first position, with Davies and Hayden sat in a lonely second and third.

Leon Camier had a strong finish in fourth position aboard his MV Agusta, as Jordi Torres completed the top five.

Full list of results below:

1. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 21 laps
2. Chaz Davies GBR Racing Ducati 1199R +36.662s
3. Nicky Hayden USA Honda Racing CBR1000RR +37.365s
4. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta RC F4 RR +38.542s
5. Jordi Torres ESP Althea BMW S1000RR +37.922s
6. Lorenzo Savadori ITA IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 +37.460s
7. Markus Reiterberger GER Althea BMW S1000RR +37.909s
8. Alex Lowes GBR PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 +38.893s
9. Roman Ramos ESP GO Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10R +41.910s
10. Lucas Mahias FRA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R +39.323s
11. Josh Brookes AUS Milwaukee BMW S1000RR +38.638s
12. Alex de Angelis RSM IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 +39.322s
13. Xavi Fores ESP Barni Ducati 1199R +37.741s
14. Matteo Baiocco ITA VFT Ducati 1199R +39.792s
15. Matthieu Lussiana FRA Team ASPI BMW S1000RR +41.485s

16. Josh Hook AUS Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R +1 lap
17. Pawel Szkopek POL Team Toth Yamaha R1 +1 lap

Not classified

Michael van der Mark NED Honda Racing CBR1000RR 19 laps completed
Karel Abraham CZE Milwaukee BMW S1000RR 13 laps completed
Davide Giugliano ITA Racing Ducati 1199R 12 laps completed
Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 9 laps completed
Sylvain Guintoli FRA PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 5 laps completed

Did not qualify

Dominic Schmitter SUI Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R
Saeed al Sulaiti QAT Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R
Peter Sebesteyen HUN Team Toth Yamaha R1


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s