Moto3 and Moto2 round-up: Salom and Rabat deliver on qualifying promise in Sepang

Moto3 got the days events under way in Sepang with Luis Salom snatching a last-gasp final corner win over title rival Alex Rins.
With six riders still in contention as the chequered flag loomed, it turned into one of the tightest races of the season.
It was destined to be the third time this year that The Red Bull KTM Ajo rider was to translate pole to a win having already achieved the same in Qatar and Catalunya.
Rins’ late braking saw him lead aboard the Estrella Galicia machine heading into the final lap, but was forced to settle for second over the line.
A Powerful Performance by Rabat     Photo:Pons Tuenti HP 40
Mahindras Miguel Oliveira made history by giving the Indian Manufacturer their first Grand Prix podium finish. In the process he also became the first non KTM powered rider to make the rostrum this season and also only the second rider not of Spanish origin to finish on the podium this year after German Jonas Folger’s two third places.
Alex Marquez had been in the hunt but finished in fourth ahead of the battling Maverick Vinales and Jack Miller, who nearly collided over the line.
It is only Team Calvo rider Vinales second off the podium finish this year but enough to see him start to see the championship slip away from him.
Alexis Masbou was next to finish in seventh ahead of Aspar’s Folger and Romano Fenati.
Philipp Oettl once again put in a strong performance after his sixth place in Aragon with a tenth place in Malaysia.
The remaining points went to Brad binder in eleventh, Niklas Ajo in twelfth, Jakub Kornfeil in 13thand Isaac Vinales in 14th.
Female rider Ana Carrasco finished 15th, and is the first woman to score a point in Moto3.
Brit John McPhee was 17th. Home rider Zulfahmi Khairuddin was declared unfit to race due to the continuing trouble with his wrist injury.
Moto2 was a shortened twelve lap race after it’s initial run saw a horrific multi-rider accident started by an Axel Pons crash. Fortunatle all the riders involved walked away unharmed.
The restart saw a crash in the first corner in front of championship leader Scott Redding, dropping him down to tenth as he avoided De Angelis and Simeon.
Up front Tito Rabat was continuing his dominant weekend and after a battle with Tom Luthi he broke away foe a commanding win.

In the latter stages Luthi also succumbed to the Pons machine of Pol Espargaro who stole a late second place- and more pints from rival Redding.
Mika Kallio fought to fourth for Marc VDS ahead of a confident performance by Dominique Aegerter, his fifth giving him his 30th successive points finish.
Redding then lost another place as he broke late and wide allowing Johann Zarco to pinch sixth, leaving the Brit frustrated in seventh, and gifting Espargaro another point, leaving the champioship gap at a slender 9 points.
Taka Nakagami held on to eighth, with fellow Italtrans rider Simon not far behind in tenth. Ninth went to Aspar’s Jordi Torres.
Simone Corsi was the top Speed Up rider in 11th, while Danny Kent won his battle with Cortese for 12th as Cortese crashed. Ant West finished his 200thGP in 13th.
The last points places went to Ricky Cardus in 14th and Marcel Schrotter who took 15thdespite having to start form pit lane when his bike failed on the sighting lap.
Local wild-card rider Hafizh Syahrin couldn’t match his fourth place heroics of 2012, but was only just out of the points in 16th.
Gino Rea finished his first replacement ride in 18th place.
Moto3 Sepang Race Result Top 15:
    1.Luis Salom SPA Red Bull KTM Ajo (KTM) 40m 42.441
    2. Alex Rins SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 (KTM) 40m 42.510
    3. Miguel Oliveira POR Mahindra Racing (Mahindra) 40m 42.849
    4. Alex Marquez SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 (KTM) 40m 43.223
    5. Maverick Viñales SPA Team Calvo (KTM) 40m 43.496
    6. Jack Miller AUS Caretta Technology – RTG (FTR Honda) 40m 43.518
    7. Alexis Masbou FRA Ongetta-Rivacold (FTR Honda) 40m 47.457
    8. Jonas Folger GER Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 (Kalex KTM) 40m 48.718
    9. Romano Fenati ITA San Carlo Team Italia (FTR Honda) 40m 49.393
    10. Philipp Oettl GER Tec Interwetten Moto3 Racing (Kalex KTM) 40m 53.403
    11. Brad Binder RSA Ambrogio Racing (Mahindra) 40m 53.537
    12. Niklas Ajo FIN Avant Tecno (KTM) 41m 3.453
    13. Jakub Kornfeil CZE Redox RW Racing GP (Kalex KTM) 41m 11.884
    14. Isaac Viñales SPA Ongetta-Centro Seta (FTR Honda) 41m 13.982
    15. Ana Carrasco SPA Team Calvo (KTM) 41m 14.020
Moto2 Sepang Race Result Top 15:
1. Esteve Rabat SPA Tuenti HP 40 (Kalex) 25m 45.411
2. Pol Espargaro SPA Tuenti HP 40 (Kalex) 25m 46.974

3. Thomas Luthi SWI Interwetten Paddock Moto2 Rac (Suter) 25m 48.321
4. Mika Kallio FIN Marc VDS Racing Team (Kalex) 25m 50.225
5. Dominique Aegerter SWI Technomag carXpert (Suter) 25m 52.763
6. Johann Zarco FRA Came Iodaracing Project (Suter) 25m 55.201
7. Scott Redding GBR Marc VDS Racing Team (Kalex) 25m 55.251
8. Takaaki Nakagami JPN Italtrans Racing Team (Kalex) 25m 57.305
9. Jordi Torres SPA Aspar Team Moto2 (Suter) 25m 57.713
10. Julian Simon SPA Italtrans Racing Team (Kalex) 26m 0.935
11. Simone Corsi ITA NGM Mobile Racing (Speed Up) 26m 1.601
12. Danny Kent GBR Tech 3 (Tech 3) 26m 10.602
13. Anthony West AUS QMMF Racing Team (Speed Up) 26m 11.393
14. Ricard Cardus SPA NGM Mobile Forward Racing (Speed Up) 26m 11.451
15. Marcel Schrotter GER Maptaq SAG Zelos Team (Kalex) 26m 11.791

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s