Moto3 and Moto2 Round up: Rins and Vinales battle it out, Terol dominates as Redding tears through the field.

The support classes saw frenzied races and battles to the line at the Motoland track in Aragon.
First up was Moto3, where title contenders Alex Rins pulled away from the pack for a frantic battle to the line, with Rins charging away for the win over the final straight.
Terol – back to winning ways  Photo: Team Aspar
Maverick Vinales had nothing left to chase down Rins on his Team Calvo bike, settling for second.
Rins’ team-mate Alex Marquez was a distant third after falling away mid-way through the race.
Fourth went to championship leader Luis Salom. After struggling in qualifying he made up places in the early laps to then get caught in battle with Mahindra rider Miguel Oliveira. The pair then reeled in Tec Interwetten rider Philipp Oettl, who had been able to keep pace with the leaders in th early stages.
Oliveira took an eventual fifth, a late mistake resigned Oettl to sixth.
Next across the line was fellow German Jonas Folger, riding on painkillers for Aspar to secure seventh.
Romano Fenati was the best placed Honda in eighth, next to finish was Arthur Sissis in ninth.
Efren Vazquez finished tenth after battling for many laps with Zulfahmi Khairuddin. The Mahindra man shunted the Malaysian, causing him st skid out of contention. Khairuddin was later revealed to have picked up a fracture ahead of his home round in Sepang.
The remaining points went to Alexis Masbou in eleventh, Brad Binder in twelfth, Jack Miller continued his tough weekend in 13th, Niccolo Antonelli took 14thand Livio Loi snatched the final point in a battle down to 20th– where Ana Carrasco finished.
Brit John McPhee finished 23rdwhile female wild-card rider Maria Herrera showed character to finish in last place after being the first to crash on the opening lap.
Moto2 was a tale of two races: Nico Terols dominant performance for the win and the title battle playing out behind him between Marc VDS rider Scott Redding and Tuenti HP 40 rider Pol Espargaro.

As the lights went green Aspar rider Nico Terol sailed off into the distance for his second race win of the year, just as he had done previously in Austin.
Tito Rabat was the only rider to try to chase him down and was awarded with a second place for his efforts.
Behind him a tense and exciting battle was playing out, with Espargaro and Redding locked in combat for much of the race. The final move by the Spaniard gave him the final podium spot, Redding lacked straight line speed and settled for fourth.
Mika Kallio was in sight of the pair but unable to bridge the gap finishing just behing his Marc VDS team-mate in fifth.
Aspar’s Jordi Torres secured sixth ahead of Julian Simon in seventh and Mattia Pasini, the best place Speed Up rider, in eighth.
Sandro Cortese lead a pack of battling riders across the line in tenth. Taka Nakagami finished eleventh after suffering from being forced wide when battling with Redding in the early stages and having to stage a fight-back to get back in the points.
Marcel Schrotter took 12th. Alex De Angelis crashed out after being clipped in the rush to the line, Dominique Aegerter collected the bike in front of him, but thankfully not the rider, still crossing the line to finish 13th.
Alex Marinelarena scored points for Blusens as a replacement for Dani Rivas in 14th, with the final point awarded to Tech3 rider Danny Kent.
Fellow Brit Gino Rea finished his wild-card performance in a credible 17th place
Moto3 Aragon Top 15 Race Result:
    1.Alex Rins SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 (KTM) 40m 4.214s
    2. Maverick Viñales SPA Team Calvo (KTM) 40m 4.640s
    3. Alex Marquez SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 (KTM) 40m 16.591s
    4. Luis Salom SPA Red Bull KTM Ajo (KTM) 40m 20.630s
    5. Miguel Oliveira POR Mahindra Racing (Mahindra) 40m 20.710s
    6. Philipp Oettl GER Tec Interwetten Moto3 Racing (Kalex KTM) 40m 25.753s
    7. Jonas Folger GER Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 (Kalex KTM) 40m 29.469s
    8. Romano Fenati ITA San Carlo Team Italia (FTR Honda) 40m 31.925s
    9. Arthur Sissis AUS Red Bull KTM Ajo (KTM) 40m 32.102s
    10. Efren Vazquez SPA Mahindra Racing (Mahindra) 40m 33.191s
    11. Alexis Masbou FRA Ongetta-Rivacold (FTR Honda) 40m 33.815s
    12. Brad Binder RSA Ambrogio Racing (Mahindra) 40m 33.962s
    13. Jack Miller AUS Caretta Technology – RTG (FTR Honda) 40m 38.047s
    14. Niccolò Antonelli ITA GO&FUN Gresini Moto3 (FTR Honda) 40m 38.064s
    15. Livio Loi BEL Marc VDS Racing Team (Kalex KTM) 40m 52.192s
Moto2 Aragon Top 15 Race Result:
    1.Nicolas Terol SPA Aspar Team Moto2 (Suter) 40m 15.232s
    2. Esteve Rabat SPA Tuenti HP 40 (Kalex) 40m 16.968s
    3. Pol Espargaro SPA Tuenti HP 40 (Kalex) 40m 18.762s
    4. Scott Redding GBR Marc VDS Racing Team (Kalex) 40m 19.015s
    5. Mika Kallio FIN Marc VDS Racing Team (Kalex) 40m 19.281s
    6. Jordi Torres SPA Aspar Team Moto2 (Suter) 40m 26.834s
    7. Johann Zarco FRA Came Iodaracing Project (Suter) 40m 31.530s
    8. Julian Simon SPA Italtrans Racing Team (Kalex) 40m 33.997s
    9. Mattia Pasini ITA NGM Mobile Racing (Speed Up) 40m 37.498s
    10. Sandro Cortese GER Dynavolt Intact GP (Kalex) 40m 38.989s
    11. Takaaki Nakagami JPN Italtrans Racing Team (Kalex) 40m 39.156s
    12. Marcel Schrotter GER Maptaq SAG Zelos Team (Kalex) 40m 39.719s
    13. Dominique Aegerter SWI Technomag carXpert (Suter) 40m 43.243s
    14. Alex Mariñelarena SPA Blusens Avintia (Kalex) 40m 48.352s
    15. Danny Kent GBR Tech 3 (Tech 3) 40m 59.141s

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s