Moto3 and Moto2 round-up: Dominant performances leads to pole for Rins and Terol

Both of the support class qualifying sessions in Aragon had a familiar theme, a dominant performance for pole and the current championship leader finding the session a struggle.
Moto3 kicked off proceedings at the Motorland track and it was Alex Rins who lead for much of the session, shaving down his lead time for his sixth pole of the year.
The only real challenge to his controlling performance came from Team Calvo’s Maveirck Vinales when he finally exited the pits, the team making set-up changes to revert to Friday’s setting for a large portion of the session.
Terol was on winning form in Austin, will he do it again in Aragon? Photo:Mapfre Aspar
The final spot on the front row went to Rins’ Estrella Galicia team-mate Alex Marquez, causing an all KTM, Spanish front row.
An incredible performance saw Philipp Oettl propel himself into fourth on his Tec Interwetten Kalex KTM, his best qualifying performance so far by a mile.
Efren Vazquez took fifth spot for Mahindra with the second row completed by Mapfre Aspar rider Jonas Folger, who had surgery on his broken ankle last week and needed crutches to mount the bike.
Miguel Oliveira filled seventh with his Mahindra ahead of championship leader Luis Salom, who will need to get to the front early in Sunday’s race as his main title rivals occupy the top two grid slots.
Salom’s Red Bull KTM team-mate Arthur Sissis completes the third row with the ninth fastest time.
Noticing no Hondas? The best qualifier aboard the Japanese machinery was Alexis Masbou in twelfth on the grid.
Ana Carrasco seemed to be pushing herself when not the only female on the start list, she starts from 16th and is joined this weekend by two-time winner in the Spanish Moto3 championship this year, Maria Herrera, who starts 32st on her debut outing.
It is the first time that two women will start a Grand Prix race since 1994.
British rider John McPhee starts from 27th for Caretta Technology.
Moto2 had to wait until last, but followed a similar pattern,
This time Nico Terol was the dominant force setting the pace from early on and cutting down his lap times to finish on pole, his first in the Moto2 class and the first for Suter this season.

He is joined on the front row by Tito Rabat, the only man to really get close to his times and his team-mate Pol Espargaro bags third despite seeming unhappy with his Tuenti HP 40’s set-up.
Espargaro will be looking to cut down Scott Redding’s championship lead with the advantage he gained from the Briton only managing 13th in qualifying, whith traffic being a major obstacle to the Marc VDS man.
Fourth went to Taki Nakagami, who will be joined on the second row by Terol’s Aspar team-mate Jordi Torres in fifth and Simone Corsi in sixth.
Simon took seventh ahead of a flying Alex De Angelis who flew around in the final few laps to progress up the standings o eighth.
Moto3 title holder Sandro Cortese got a great tow from Tom Luthi on his last lap propelling him into ninth, Luthi starts 11th.
British rider Danny Kent start’s 16th, Gino Rea has another wild-card and managed 21st on the grid despite a crash.
Moto3 Aragon Qualifying Top Ten
    1.Alex Rins SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 (KTM) 1m 58.571s
    2. Maverick Viñales SPA Team Calvo (KTM) 1m 59.273s
    3. Alex Marquez SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 (KTM) 1m 59.282s
    4. Philipp Oettl GER Tec Interwetten Moto3 Racing (Kalex KTM) 1m 59.906s
    5. Efren Vazquez SPA Mahindra Racing (Mahindra) 1m 59.932s
    6. Jonas Folger GER Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 (Kalex KTM) 2m 0.156s
    7. Miguel Oliveira POR Mahindra Racing (Mahindra) 2m 0.221s
    8. Luis Salom SPA Red Bull KTM Ajo (KTM) 2m 0.275s
    9. Arthur Sissis AUS Red Bull KTM Ajo (KTM) 2m 0.337s
    10. Jakub Kornfeil CZE Redox RW Racing GP (Kalex KTM) 2m 0.362s
Moto2 Aragon Qualifying Top Ten
    1.Nicolas Terol SPA Aspar Team Moto2 (Suter) 1m 53.812s
    2. Esteve Rabat SPA Tuenti HP 40 (Kalex) 1m 53.985s
    3. Pol Espargaro SPA Tuenti HP 40 (Kalex) 1m 54.294s
    4. Takaaki Nakagami JPN Italtrans Racing Team (Kalex) 1m 54.398s
    5. Jordi Torres SPA Aspar Team Moto2 (Suter) 1m 54.564s
    6. Simone Corsi ITA NGM Mobile Racing (Speed Up) 1m 54.595s
    7. Julian Simon SPA Italtrans Racing Team (Kalex) 1m 54.601s
    8. Alex De Angelis RSM NGM Mobile Forward Racing (Speed Up) 1m 54.634s
    9. Sandro Cortese GER Dynavolt Intact GP (Kalex) 1m 54.687s
    10. Johann Zarco FRA Came Iodaracing Project (Suter) 1m 54.690s

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s