WSS: Masterclass from Lowes as he wins at Donington

Sam Lowes put in a sublime performance in this afternoon’s World Supersport race to win by over 11 seconds from nearest competitor Kenan Sofuoglu and Italian Roberto Rolfo. It was Frenchman Florian

Lowes put on an absolute masterclass at Donington

Marino who took the lead into Redgate on the first lap from Lowes, Sofuoglu, Iddon, Zanetti and Kennedy. 

It didn’t take the Lincolnshire lad long to find the front as he slipped his R6 underneath the ZX10R of Marino at the Melbourne Loop at the end of the first lap. Iddon was looking strong on the MV Augusta in 4th place however a strong pass from Lorenzo Zanetti into the loop on the second lap sent the Englishman slightly wide  and into the rear wheel of Kenan Sofuoglu causing him to fall from his F3. This meant Irishman Jack Kennedy could sneak through into third position. Knowing he is seriously lacking in points after a fall last time out in Monza, Sofuoglu took no prisoners as he fought back, claiming 2 positions in two corners at the end of lap 5. Meanwhile Lowes out at the front had built up a 4.4 second lead after just 5 laps, breaking his own lap record from 2011 with a 1’30.927. Sam Hornsey’s wildcard came to an early end as he retired with a technical issue on lap 7. 
By lap 10, Lowes had a seven second lead from Sofuoglu who was in turn gapping the battle for third between Zanetti, Morais, Marino and Kennedy. Glen Richards made his wild card a bit difficult as he ran straight on at the Fogarty esses from 7th place, rejoining in 15th. Scotland’s Kev Coghlan also ran into the gravel a lap later, leading to his retirement from the race. Robbie Rolfo started to break through the pack at around three quarters distance, where he got past Marino, Morais and Zanetti to put himself in a potential podium position. The battle for fourth was then closed up between the Hondas of Zanetti and Morais, Intermoto Kawasaki pairing of Marino and Scassa and Rivamoto’s Jack Kennedy.
The four were swapping positions, all keen to get after Rolfo and the quickly disappearing third place. A move from Luca Scassa on team mate Marino around Goddards saw the young Frenchman (Marino) fall from the race. Lowes had an incredible 11.3 seconds on Sofuoglu by lap 18 who in turn was around half a second ahead of Rolfo. A mistake from Morais at the esses saw Scassa and Kennedy elevated a position which spurred Scassa on to take 4th from Zanetti, who caught it back on the run to the line on the last lap. 
Donington – FIM Supersport World Championship – Race

1. Sam Lowes (Yakhnich Motorsport) Yamaha YZF R6 33’37.767
2. Kenan Sofuoglu (MAHI Racing Team India) Kawasaki ZX-6R 33’48.872
3. Roberto Rolfo (ParkinGo MV Agusta Corse) MV Agusta F3 675 33’52.295
4. Lorenzo Zanetti (Pata Honda World Supersport) Honda CBR600RR 33’57.766
5. Luca Scassa (Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres) Kawasaki ZX-6R 33’57.887
6. Jack Kennedy (Rivamoto) Honda CBR600RR 33’58.152
7. Sheridan Morais (PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 34’02.091
8. Andrea Antonelli (Team Goeleven) Kawasaki ZX-6R 34’05.162
9. Fabien Foret (MAHI Racing Team India) Kawasaki ZX-6R 34’05.920
10. Glen Richards (Smiths Triumph) Triumph Daytona 675 34’06.031
11. Vladimir Ivanov (Kawasaki DMC-Lorenzini Team) Kawasaki ZX-6R 34’06.254
12. Gabor Talmacsi (Prorace) Honda CBR600RR 34’06.808
13. Raffaele De Rosa (Team Lorini) Honda CBR600RR 34’07.415
14. Riccardo Russo (Puccetti Racing Kawasaki) Kawasaki ZX-6R 34’10.369
15. Alex Baldolini (Suriano Racing Team) Suzuki GSX-R600 34’16.732
16. Vladimir Leonov (Yakhnich Motorsport) Yamaha YZF R6 34’17.076
17. Mathew Scholtz (Suriano Racing Team) Suzuki GSX-R600 34’17.403
18. Luca Marconi (PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 34’20.538
19. Billy McConnell (Smiths Triumph) Triumph Daytona 675 34’23.653
20. Michael Vd Mark (Pata Honda World Supersport) Honda CBR600RR 34’31.497
21. Florian Marino (Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres) Kawasaki ZX-6R 34’37.487
22. Balazs Nemeth (Complus SMS Racing) Honda CBR600RR 34’53.590
23. Alex Schacht (Racing Team Toth) Honda CBR600RR 34’53.763
24. Mitchell Carr (AARK Racing) Triumph 675 R 34’54.030
25. Riccardo Cecchini (Team Lorini) Honda CBR600RR 34’54.195
26. Imre Toth (Racing Team Toth) Honda CBR600RR 34’56.117
27. Tony Coveña (Nito Racing) Kawasaki ZX-6R 34’25.296
NC. Nacho Calero Perez (Honda PTR) Honda CBR600RR 36’34.692
RT. Massimo Roccoli (Team Pata by Martini) Yamaha YZF R6 32’50.124
RT. Matt Davies (Team Honda PTR) Honda CBR600RR 26’58.523
RT. Kev Coghlan (Kawasaki DMC-Lorenzini Team) Kawasaki ZX-6R 20’46.313
RT. Eduard Blokhin (Rivamoto) Honda CBR600RR 18’11.217
RT. David Linortner (Team Honda PTR) Honda CBR600RR 14’38.091
RT. Sam Hornsey (RLR Motorsports) Suzuki GSX-R600 9’31.550

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s