WSS: Lowes wins postponed supersport race at Monza

Lowes won despite having an aggravated wrist injury

Photo: World SBK

Yakhnich Motorsport rider Sam Lowes won his second race of the 2013 season at Monza this afternoon in a delayed World Supersport race.

Drama has surrounded the Supersport class at the historic Italian circuit today following three red flags from three race starts. Carnage in the first attempt caused the red flags to be waved after Massimo Roccoli crashed his Pata by Martini bike at the Ascari chicane, leaving oil on the track. Reigning world champion Kenan Sofuoglu was the first to find the oil closely followed by Sam Lowes, who both lost the front end taking out Fabien Foret and Florian Marino with them.

‘Race two’ was red flagged on the second lap following a crash by Polita again at the Ascari chicane, which caused an air fence to be damaged and as a result the race was stopped. The third attempt was set to be a ten lap dash for the win, however a pile-up at the first corner chicane caused the race to be stopped before having completed a lap. With time running out the race was postponed until after the second World Superbike race of the day. This crash meant Michael Vd Mark was unable to start the delayed race due to broken bones in his foot.

Finally, the fourth and final World Supersport race got underway for a ten lap dash. David Salom’s replacement Florian Marino got a perfect start for the fourth time and all riders got safely through the chicane. But it was Kenan Sofuoglu that led for the opening four laps, leading a group of four. Briton Sam Lowes set the fastest lap on the lap two from fourth position whilst Lorenzo Zanetti and Stefano Cruciani were sitting in second and third position until running on, gifting Lowes second place. 

MAHI Racing Team India’s Sofuoglu was beginning to pull out a lead of over a second just ahead of the fight for 2nd position until losing the front end on lap four, unable to rejoin the race. This put Lowes in the lead, fighting off Marino and Riccardo Russo. The three riders were now locked in a fight to the line, seeing the lead change seven times in a nail-biting dash. Lowes was losing out on the straights however a mistake from home-boy Marino on the final lap allowed the Lincolnshire rider to glide into first position and pull out a lead. 

Lowes crossed the line 0.798 seconds ahead of Kawasaki rider Marino, securing a 16 point lead in the world championship standings ahead of Kenan Sofuoglu two weeks before his home race at Donington Park. Scottish rider Kev Coghlan finished the race in 5th position, his first top five finish of the season.  

Results below: 

1. Sam Lowes (Yakhnich Motorsport) Yamaha YZF R6 18’09.799
2. Florian Marino (Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres) Kawasaki ZX-6R 18’10.597
3. Lorenzo Zanetti (Pata Honda World Supersport) Honda CBR600RR 18’10.788
4. Riccardo Russo (Puccetti Racing Kawasaki) Kawasaki ZX-6R 18’11.141
5. Kev Coghlan (Kawasaki DMC-Lorenzini Team) Kawasaki ZX-6R 18’11.286
6. Sheridan Morais (PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 18’18.060
7. Vladimir Leonov (Yakhnich Motorsport) Yamaha YZF R6 18’20.843
8. Luca Scassa (Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres) Kawasaki ZX-6R 18’20.968
9. Vladimir Ivanov (Kawasaki DMC-Lorenzini Team) Kawasaki ZX-6R 18’20.998
10. Luca Marconi (PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 18’21.052
11. Roberto Rolfo (ParkinGo MV Agusta Corse) MV Agusta F3 675 18’23.918
12. Mathew Scholtz (Suriano Racing Team) Suzuki GSX-R600 18’24.321
13. Christian Iddon (ParkinGo MV Agusta Corse) MV Agusta F3 675 18’24.763
14. David Linortner (Team Honda PTR) Honda CBR600RR 18’24.878
15. Raffaele De Rosa (Team Lorini) Honda CBR600RR 18’24.922
16. Matt Davies (Team Honda PTR) Honda CBR600RR 18’25.112
17. Alex Baldolini (Team Lorini) Honda CBR600RR 18’30.108
18. Roberto Tamburini (Suriano Racing Team) Suzuki GSX-R600 18’31.909
19. Gabor Talmacsi (Prorace) Honda CBR600RR 18’31.913
20. Nacho Calero Perez (Honda PTR) Honda CBR600RR 18’40.915
21. Dino Lombardi (Pata by Martini Team) Yamaha YZF R6 18’47.032
22. Balazs Nemeth (Complus SMS Racing) Honda CBR600RR 18’47.565
23. Imre Toth (Racing Team Toth) Honda CBR600RR 18’54.812
24. Yves Polzer (Team MRC Austria) Honda CBR600RR 19’07.894
25. Mitchell Carr (AARK Racing) Triumph 675 R 19’08.163
26. Eduard Blokhin (Rivamoto) Honda CBR600RR 19’24.246
RT. Alex Schacht (Racing Team Toth) Honda CBR600RR 15’03.170
RT. Stefano Cruciani (Puccetti Racing Kawasaki) Kawasaki ZX-6R 12’50.980
RT. Jack Kennedy (Rivamoto) Honda CBR600RR 11’02.880
RT. Kenan Sofuoglu (MAHI Racing Team India) Kawasaki ZX-6R 7’53.473
RT. Andrea Antonelli (Team Goeleven) Kawasaki ZX-6R 5’37.357

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s