WSBK: Laverty scorches to Race 2 Monza Win [FINALISED]

World Superbikes race two at Monza saw the front row line up with Sykes, Laverty and Guintoli ahead of Rea, Melandri and Giugliano. As the field departed for the warm-up lap, MAHI Kawasaki rider and Assen podium man Loris Baz was left stranded on the grid with a problem on his ZX-10R Kawasaki. The rider and bike were quickly moved to pit lane where the bike fired and the Frenchman was allowed to start the race from Pit Lane.

Aprilia Racing Team Eugene Laverty, race 2 winner at Monza

Photo: ART

As the lights went out, the dash to the first turn saw Laverty first through from Tom Sykes, Davide Giugliano and Marco Melandri from Pata Honda’s Jonathan Rea and Aprilia Racing Team’s English Frenchman Sylvain Guintoli. Althea Aprilia man Giugliano was the man on the move as he slipped through on Sykes in to the stunning Parabolica. Unfortunately for the Italian his progress was slowed on lap two after he out-braked himself in to della roggia, narrowly missing the rear of Laverty’s Aprilia.

Fixi Crescent Suzuki rider Jules Cluzel  went down uninjured at Lesmo 2 on lap 2 as Laverty tried to make a break on the pursuing trio of Sykes, Melandri and Guintoli as Jonathan Rea retired from the race on lap 5 after an issue with his Honda Fireblade. Pit Lane starting Loris Baz had made it up to ninth by the end of the fourth lap as Pata Honda’s bad race was compounded when Akiyoshi fell from his Honda Fireblade.

Laverty, Sykes, Melandri and Guintoli were split by 0.5s lap 6 as Fabrizio ran on at turn one after being slightly squeezed by fellow Italian Giugliano but it was lap 7 when Guintoli made his move with a tough pass on Melandri in to the popular passing place of turn 1, baulking the little Italian mid-corner. On the very next lap Guintoli did it again, only this time on team mate Laverty for the lead.

Chaz Davies passed Camier in to Ascari on lap 9 to start his charge towards the front group after his average start, on the next circulation Davies slid up the inside of Giugliano at Parabolica and made it stick for the next lap and a half before folding the front on the entry to della Roggia and crashing out of the race unharmed. Back at the front Laverty repassed Guintoli out of the second part of the Ascari chicane only to be passed back at turn 1.

Michele Fabrizio took sixth place off a recovering Leon Camier as the front four held station before the action began again on the penultimate lap as Laverty yet again passed Guintoli at Ascari as behind him Melandri had a moment on the bump on Ascari entry before sliding neatly past Guintoli at the Parabolica.

Last laps at Monza are usually the making or breaking of Legends, Guintoli tried one final time at his favourite passing place but this time Melandri shut the door on the Aprilia man causing him to lose momentum. Sykes ran in too hot at della Roggia, almost tagging the BMW of Melandri and took to the cemented area to regain composure and the circuit, but to some consternation, as Sykes rejoined ahead of Guintoli however the pair had lost touch with the front two so it was deemed no advantage was gained and Sykes held on to secure third.

Laverty held the lead from Melandri as the pair entered the Parabolica for the final time, the Italian closing rapidly but Laverty defended well despite Melandri posting the fastest lap of the race on the last lap and held the line to the flag to record his sixth World Superbike victory and his third at the historic Monza circuit. Guintoli took fourth from Fabrizio, Giuliano, Camier, Baz, Badovini and Neukirchener.

1. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 30’59.653
2. Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK) BMW S1000 RR 30’59.796
3. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 31’00.378*
4. Sylvain Guintoli (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 31’01.272*
5. Michel Fabrizio (Red Devils Roma) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 31’09.618
6. Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 31’09.719
7. Leon Camier (Fixi Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 31’11.894
8. Loris Baz (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 31’29.424
9. Ayrton Badovini (Team Ducati Alstare) Ducati 1199 Panigale R 31’34.658
10. Max Neukirchner (MR-Racing) Ducati 1199 Panigale R 31’41.410
11. Fabrizio Lai (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 31’52.232
12. Vittorio Iannuzzo (Grillini Dentalmatic SBK) BMW S1000 RR 32’28.425
13. Federico Sandi (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 31’06.572
RT. Chaz Davies (BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK) BMW S1000 RR 19’01.771
RT. Jonathan Rea (Pata Honda World Superbike) Honda CBR1000RR 11’20.596
RT. Kosuke Akiyoshi (Pata Honda World Superbike) Honda CBR1000RR 7’06.643
RT. Mark Aitchison (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 5’31.798
RT. Jules Cluzel (Fixi Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1’47.465
*Guintoli protested original result, won protest – Sykes & Guintoli positions switched. 
*2015: Sykes appeal successful, Sykes reinstated third. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s