Support Round up: Vinales wins red flagged Moto3 whilst debut victory for Rabat in Moto2

Vinales wins another red-flagged Moto3 round as Rabat storms to the first win of his career in Moto2 ahead of Brit Scott Redding. Warm weather greeted the Moto3 field, the first racers of the day. Predicted tyre

Photo: Pons Racing

wear was not to be an issue after a heavy crash for CIP rider Alan Techer saw the second Moto3 round in a row red-flagged.

Vinales had taken the lead by the time of the accident and was awarded first for Team Calvo ahead of a frustrated Luis Salom, who had broken away with his fellow Spaniard after Estrella Galicia rider Alex Rins fell earlier in the race, and had been waiting for the right moment to make a break for the front aboard his Red Bull Ajo KTM.
Mapfre Aspar rider Jonas Folger was the first rider not of Spanish origin to grace the podium this season, though the rostrum remained an all KTM affair. Vinales now leads the championship by four points from Salom. Initial reports confirmed Techer to be conscious and have no breaks but was stuggling with his memory of the event. The top finishing Honda was Brad Binder for the Ambrogio team, he had a huge gap when both Mahindra’s Miguel Oliveira and Caretta’s Jack Miller crashed while racing just behind him.
Fifth went to Jakub Kornfeil for RW Racing despite only arriving on Saturday as he had exam commitments in the Czech republic.Brit John McPhee narrowly missed out on his first top ten finish, having taken the position from Alexis Masbou he only missed out when the race was taken back to the last full lap for the result. Fellow countryman Danny Webb wasn’t far behind, securing a twelfth place finish for the Ambrogio Racing team.
Jasper Iwema returned after being the rider whose crash ended the Austin round with a red flag for 14th. Sixteen year old Livio Loi scored a point on his debut ride for Marc VDS, previously he had not met the minimum age to race.

Moto2 and results below

Moto2 was dominated by Tito Rabat, the Tuenti HP 40 Pons rider leading from the lights to the chequered pole in his 113th race start. The pole-sitter pulled away from an equally solo Scott Redding who in his own words was “on the limit” as he said in parc ferme trying to keep up. The Gloucester man rode maturely with consistant lap times to finish easily ahead of Rabat’s team-mate Pol Espargaro.

Espargaro provided the main racing action as he caught and passed Italtrans rider Takaaki Nakagami, managing the feat twice after Sucipto let the Japanese rider through when being lapped but held the Pons man up The first four positions were filled by Kalex machines with Austin winner Nico Terol the first Suter to cross the line for Mapfre Aspar.

Other finishers of note include Tom Luthi, who finished 11th on his first full race weekend following his testing injury for Interwetten and Top Speed Up rider QMMF’s Ant West who took 12th. British Riders Kyle Smith and Danny Kent both had offs over the race duration. Tech3’s Kent registered a 27th place finished with Blusens racer Smith suffering a DNF.

Jerez Moto3 Race Result Top 15:
    1.Maverick Viñales SPA Team Calvo (KTM) 26m 57.338
    2. Luis Salom SPA Red Bull KTM Ajo (KTM) 26m 57.601
    3. Jonas Folger GER Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 (Kalex KTM) 27m 1.813
    4. Brad Binder RSA Ambrogio Racing (Suter Honda) 27m 12.442
    5. Jakub Kornfeil CZE Redox RW Racing GP (Kalex KTM) 27m 15.750
    6. Niklas Ajo FIN Avant Tecno (KTM) 27m 16.402
    7. Zulfahmi Khairuddin MAL Red Bull KTM Ajo (KTM) 27m 16.542
    8. Efren Vazquez SPA Mahindra Racing (Mahindra) 27m 17.018
    9. Romano Fenati ITA San Carlo Team Italia (FTR Honda) 27m 20.101
    10. Alexis Masbou FRA Ongetta-Rivacold (FTR Honda) 27m 20.476
    11. John McPhee GBR Caretta Technology – RTG (FTR Honda) 27m 20.527
    12. Arthur Sissis AUS Red Bull KTM Ajo (KTM) 27m 21.134
    13. Danny Webb GBR Ambrogio Racing (Suter Honda) 27m 25.235
    14. Jasper Iwema NED RW Racing GP (Kalex KTM) 27m 26.924
    15. Livio Loi BEL Marc VDS Racing Team (Kalex KTM) 27m 27.114
Jerez Moto2 Race Result Top 15:
    1.Esteve Rabat SPA Tuenti HP 40 (Kalex) 45m 4.450
    2. Scott Redding GBR Marc VDS Racing Team (Kalex) 45m 8.711
    3. Pol Espargaro SPA Tuenti HP 40 (Kalex) 45m 11.967
    4. Takaaki Nakagami JPN Italtrans Racing Team (Kalex) 45m 12.171
    5. Nicolas Terol SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 (Suter) 45m 15.985
    6. Xavier Simeon BEL Desguaces La Torre Maptaq (Kalex) 45m 17.714
    7. Jordi Torres SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 (Suter) 45m 18.212
    8. Dominique Aegerter SWI Technomag carXpert (Suter) 45m 25.555
    9. Toni Elias SPA Blusens Avintia (Kalex) 45m 28.671
    10. Marcel Schrotter GER Desguaces La Torre SAG (Kalex) 45m 28.869
    11. Thomas Luthi SWI Interwetten Paddock Moto2 Rac (Suter) 45m 30.976
    12. Anthony West AUS QMMF Racing Team (Speed Up) 45m 31.455s
    13. Johann Zarco FRA Came Iodaracing Project (Suter) 45m 40.009
    14. Simone Corsi ITA NGM Mobile Racing (Speed Up) 45m 40.106
    15. Alex De Angelis RSM NGM Mobile Forward Racing (Speed Up) 45m 40.283

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s