WSBK: Laverty takes second victory of 2013 in Assen Race 2

Aprilia Racing Team rider Eugene Laverty secured his first win of 2013 at the ‘Cathedral of Speed’ Circuit van Drenthe in Assen, Holland this afternoon. In a calculated race the Irishman held station behind MAHI Kawasaki’s race one winner Tom Sykes until lap nineteen when Laverty made the telling pass with a great move through the fast De Strubben chicane. 

Eugene Laverty on his way to victory in Assen

Photo: Aprilia Racing Team

The front row for race two was again Sykes on pole then Rea and Laverty. Sykes took the holeshot and lead in to turn one with Laverty tucked up close behind with Rea, Baz, Melandri and Davide Giugliano with a poor starting Guintoli down in 7th. Sykes and Laverty make a slight escape on lap 2 as Rea and Giugliano battled hard for third while Baz and Melandri looked on.

By lap five three clear groups had formed with Sykes and Laverty out front with Giugliano, Rea and Baz fighting for third and Melandri , Guintoli and Davies for sixth. The race one woes suffered by Goldbet BMW’s Marco Melandri returned to haunt him as he was passed by the Frenchman and the Welshman in quick succession after seeing the bike lock up twice in two corners and costing him valuable time. The Italian eventually dropped back to eleventh place behind Althea Ducati’s struggling Carlos Checa. 

Guigliano departed the podium chase on lap six after losing the front of his Althea Ducati Panigale, sliding out unhurt, but unfortunatley the bike caught fire with the still heavy fuel load however great work from the Marshals kept damage to a minimum.

ART man Guintoli got his head down and began to drag Davies up to the podium group of Rea and Baz whilst behind them Fixi Crescent Suzuki team mates Jules Cluzel and the still-injured Leon Camier and Michele Fabrizio fought hard for seventh, eighth and ninth place.

Baz went through on Rea on lap nine in to turn one but Rea immediately fought back but Baz didn’t give up and put in an identical pass on Rea as Rea did to Guintoli in race one, the Frenchman showing his potential in the class once again. Guintoli bridged the gap on lap ten and slipped through on Rea at the final chicane as Rea ran wide and by half distance it was Sykes, Laverty, Baz, Guintoli, Rea, Davies, Camier, Cluzel, Fabrizio and Checa rounding out the top ten. 

Guintoli passed Baz up the inside at turn one on lap 15 as Cluzel retired with a technical problem a lap later but Baz didn’t give up and retook his fellow Frenchman on the following lap as Guintoli looked to have used his tyres in crossing the gap earlier in the race, Pata Honda’s Rea slipped his CBR1000RR up the inside of the Aprilia RSV4 three laps from the end.

The race winning pass came on lap nineteen as Laverty swept underneath Sykes at the supremely quick De Strubben and tried to make a break from the Englishman but Sykes wouldn’t let go and hung on to the coat-tails of the new leader. Behind them a tough late move from Rea, with his back wheel off the ground, on Guintoli going in to the final chicane at the end of lap 20, almost a true ‘Hail Mary’ pass, and in turn giving Baz a little breathing space in third. Laverty lead on to last lap with Sykes pushing hard, even locking up the rear at turn one but the Aprilia had the drive over the Kawasaki through the middle third of the lap, and it was going to go down to the Gert Timmer Chicane. Unfortunately Sykes had big slide on the final left hander before the chicane, losing vital ground, then ran in a little hot to the chicane to close up but suffered another slide as he ran on to the kerb as Laverty beats him to the line to take his first win of 2013. 

Baz took a fine third just a hairs breadth ahead of Jonathan Rea as Davies edged out the championship leader Guintoli for 5th by 0.050s.

Assen – FIM Superbike World Championship – Race 2

1. Eugene Laverty  (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 35’36 .814
2. Tom Sykes  (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 35’36 .903
3. Loris Baz  (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 35’42 .662
4. Jonathan Rea  (Honda World Superbike Pata) Honda CBR1000RR 35’42 .704
5. Chaz Davies  (BMW Motorrad Superbike GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 35’44 .173
6. Sylvain Guintoli  (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 35’44 .218
7. Leon Camier  (Crescent Fixi Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 35’57 .909
8. Marco Melandri  (BMW Motorrad Superbike GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 36’04 .081
9. Michel Fabrizio  (Red Devils Roma) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 36’07 .047
10. Carlos Checa  (Ducati Team Alstare) Ducati 1199 Panigale R 36’09 .215
11. Badovini  (Ducati Team Alstare) Ducati 1199 Panigale R 36’16 .738
12. Max Neukirchner  (MR-Racing) Ducati 1199 Panigale R 36’20 .718
13. Ivan Clementi  (HTM Racing) BMW S1000 RR 36’36 .983
14. Federico Sandi  (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 36’38 .667
15. Mark Aitchison  (Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 36’39 .478
RT. Jules Cluzel  (Fixi Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 24’31 .112
RT. Davide Giugliano  (Althea Racing) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 8’07 .727
RT. Vittorio Iannuzzo  (Grillini Dentalmatic SBK) BMW S1000 RR 3’39 .175


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s