WSBK: Tom Sykes takes pole at Assen

Sykes secured his second pole of the season at Assen

Photo: World SBK

Kawasaki Racing Team rider Tom Sykes stormed to pole position in Assen this afternoon, winning his second Superpole of the year. 

Lone Pata Honda rider following Leon Haslam’s crash yesterday, Jonathan Rea set the pace in Superpole 3 with a time of 1.36.243. However, Sykes was quick to respond and he leapt to the top of the timing sheets, shaving almost a second of Rea’s time. 

The Yorkshire Grinner was then undisturbed at the top, however there were still strong battles for the lower positions. Both veteran Carlos Checa and young gun Loris Baz improved their qualifying positions after a final push to the line, boosting up to 7th and 5th respectively. 

Aprilia Racing teammates Sylvain Guintoli and Eugene Laverty will start tomorrows race from 3rd and 5th position. They both set times within half a second of Sykes’ time. Italians Davide Guigliano, who was fastest in Superpole 2 round out row two and Melandri starts from the front of the third row in 7th. 
Aragon double race winner Chaz Davies failed to make it into Superpole  and will start the race from 13th position.  
Results below

1. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’35.043
2. Jonathan Rea (Pata Honda World Superbike) Honda CBR1000RR 1’35.639
3. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’35.814
4. Sylvain Guintoli (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’35.973
5. Loris Baz (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’36.166
6. Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’36.326
7. Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK) BMW S1000 RR 1’36.330
8. Carlos Checa (Team Ducati Alstare) Ducati 1199 Panigale R 1’36.438
9. Michel Fabrizio (Red Devils Roma) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’37.570
10. Jules Cluzel (Fixi Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1’36.837
11. Ayrton Badovini (Team Ducati Alstare) Ducati 1199 Panigale R 1’36.937
12. Max Neukirchner (MR-Racing) Ducati 1199 Panigale R 1’38.561
13. Chaz Davies (BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK) BMW S1000 RR 1’37.865
14. Ivan Clementi (HTM Racing) BMW S1000 RR 1’38.016
15. Vittorio Iannuzzo (Grillini Dentalmatic SBK) BMW S1000 RR 1’39.420
16. Federico Sandi (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’40.534
17. Mark Aitchison (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 1’41.408
18. Alexander Lundh (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’42.390
19. Leon Camier (Fixi Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 2’01.728

Timing sheet can be seen here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s