WSBK: Laverty on provisional pole at Aragon

Laverty is continuing top form at Aragon

Photo: Aprilia

Aprilia Racing Team rider Eugene Laverty topped the timing sheets at Aragon in Q1, after finishing in 4th in FP1. Chaz Davies was close behind Laverty with Tom Sykes 0.83 behind, rounding out the top three.

Marco Melandri finished the session in fourth position for BMW Motorrad GoldBet ahead of Jonathan Rea and Laverty’s teammate and Philip Island race 1 winner Sylvain Guintoli. Just 0.6 seconds covered the top six.

The Fixi Cresent Suzuki’s Leon Camier was 7th, recorded on his third flying lap. The Brit fell heavily on his fourth lap, causing the session to be red flagged, he’s been taken to hospital and is unlikely to ride this weekend. Camier’s team mate, Jules Cluzel was 8th, ahead of Frenchman Loris Baz and Italain Davide Giugliano rounded out the top ten, 1.051 seconds off Laverty.

British rider Leon Haslam finished the session in 11th, ahead of former world champion Carlos Checa. The second qualifying session is tomorrow morning, followed by a final free practice and then Superpole.

Results below:

1. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’58.548
2. Chaz Davies (BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK) BMW S1000 RR 1’58.652
3. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’58.887
4. Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK) BMW S1000 RR 1’58.944
5. Jonathan Rea (Pata Honda World Superbike) Honda CBR1000RR 1’59.060
6. Sylvain Guintoli (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’59.144
7. Leon Camier (Fixi Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1’59.379
8. Jules Cluzel (Fixi Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1’59.414
9. Loris Baz (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’59.423
10. Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’59.599
11. Leon Haslam (Pata Honda World Superbike) Honda CBR1000RR 1’59.599
12. Carlos Checa (Team Ducati Alstare) Ducati 1199 Panigale R 2’00.004
13. Michel Fabrizio (Red Devils Roma) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 2’00.199
14. Ayrton Badovini (Team Ducati Alstare) Ducati 1199 Panigale R 2’00.688
15. Alexander Lundh (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 2’01.041
16. Max Neukirchner (MR-Racing) Ducati 1199 Panigale R 2’01.658
17. Federico Sandi (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 2’01.928
18. Vittorio Iannuzzo (Grillini Dentalmatic SBK) BMW S1000 RR 2’03.201
19. Ivan Clementi (HTM Racing) BMW S1000 RR 2’03.233
20. Mark Aitchison (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 2’04.169

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s