MotoGP: Marquez pips Yamaha in FP2

After Yamaha dominated the first MotoGP practice session yesterday at Qatar, Marc Marquez has decided to remind them that he is the “wonderkid” by putting in the fastest time in FP2, this evening’s first of two

The young Spaniard tops his first ever MotoGP session

Photo: Repsol Honda


It had looked like the session was going to face a delay, after a rare, brief rain shower hit the Qatari desert, however the rain and stopped and circuit dried in time for the session to go ahead on time. 9 time champion Valentino Rossi had led the session until ten minutes remaining when Yamaha team mate Jorge Lorenzo took the top spot from him for Marquez to then go faster than both Yamaha riders.

Thursday 2nd place man Cal Crutchlow was 4th, ahead of Bradl and a consistently impressive Andrea Dovizioso, who took 6th place ahead of Dani Pedrosa. The Repsol Honda championship favourite struggling, 1.4 sec off the pace. Yesterday, the Spaniard cited corner entry problems for his slow speed but he is also having issue with a pain in his neck.

Nicky Hayden put the second factory Ducati into 8th, whilst Ben Spies broke into the top 10 for the first time this season ahead of Alvaro Bautista and Britain’s Bradley Smith.

Espagargo was first of the CRTs followed by PBM’s Yonny Hernandez and Hector Barbera. Irishman Michael Laverty is still last on his custom, PBM chassis CRT machine.

The final practice session will commence at 18:55 BST, after which the top 10 will automatically qualify for the new 15 minute shootout for pole, whilst those placed 11 and lower will have to fight for the last 2 positions in the shoot-out in the first 15 minute qualifying session.

Times below

Pos. Rider Team Time
1 Marc MARQUEZ Repsol Honda Team 1’56.477
2 Jorge LORENZO Yamaha Factory Racing 1’56.745
3 Valentino ROSSI Yamaha Factory Racing 1’56.805
4 Cal CRUTCHLOW Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1’57.169
5 Stefan BRADL LCR Honda MotoGP 1’57.257
6 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Ducati Team 1’57.833
7 Dani PEDROSA Repsol Honda Team 1’57.877
8 Nicky HAYDEN Ducati Team 1’58.040
9 Ben SPIES Ignite Pramac Racing 1’58.137
10 Alvaro BAUTISTA GO&FUN Honda Gresini 1’58.298
11 Bradley SMITH Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1’58.340
12 Andrea IANNONE Energy T.I. Pramac Racing 1’58.575
13 Aleix ESPARGARO Power Electronics Aspar 1’58.631
14 Yonny HERNANDEZ Paul Bird Motorsport 1’58.871
15 Hector BARBERA Avintia Blusens 1’58.904
16 Randy DE PUNIET Power Electronics Aspar 1’59.185
17 Karel ABRAHAM Cardion AB Motoracing 1’59.809
18 Danilo PETRUCCI Came IodaRacing Project 2’00.557
19 Hiroshi AOYAMA Avintia Blusens 2’00.652
20 Lukas PESEK Came IodaRacing Project 2’00.919
21 Colin EDWARDS NGM Mobile Forward Racing 2’00.940
22 Claudio CORTI NGM Mobile Forward Racing 2’01.321
23 Bryan STARING GO&FUN Honda Gresini 2’01.622
24 Michael LAVERTY Paul Bird Motorsport 2’01.816

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s