MotoGP: Yamaha dominate FP1 in Qatar

It’s official, its back! This evening’s MotoGP first free practice session marked the opening of the 2013

MotoGP season, and it didn’t disappoint.

Lorenzo stole the first session from Crutchlow and Rossi

Photo: Yamaha Racing

The track was dusty and grip needs to be improved so the riders didn’t waste anytime and all 24 of them took to the Losail International Circuit as soon as pit lane opened. Valentino Rossi impressed on his return to the Yamaha Factory team, setting the first sub 2.00 time of the session, and continued to lead the way for the majority of the 45 minute practice. Every time teammate and reigning world champion Jorge Lorenzo went faster, Rossi matched it.

Paul Bird Motorsport rider Yonny Hernandez was the only man to crash, sliding off at turn 12 early on in the session and walked away unhurt.

Repsol Honda had a calmer session; Marquez finished in fourth and Dani Pedrosa , finishing just ahead of top CRT Espargaro in 8th.

Things began to heat up after Andrea Dovizioso shot up into third position with seven minutes to go in his first free practice session aboard a factory Ducati, which was shortly followed by Yamaha Tech3 rider Cal Crutchlow setting the fastest time of the session, putting himself 0.08 seconds clear of Rossi with a 1.56.743. Not one to be left behind, Jorge Lorenzo pipped his fellow Yamaha riders to the post by setting the fastest time of the session with 1.10 to go, resulting in a Yamaha 1-2-3. Britain’s Bradley Smith put his Tech 3 Yamaha in 11th.

Times below.

CRT times were looking competitive; top CRT rider was Aleix Espargaro in ninth and was only 1.158 off Lorenzo’s time. British CRT rookie PBM rider Michael Laverty finished 24th and five seconds off the fastest time in his first ever MotoGP session under floodlights.

Although, lets not forget these times are still 1.5 seconds off the lap record and 3 seconds off the pole position lap record. Free practice resumes tomorrow evening, with times set to drop and tensions to rise.

1 Jorge LORENZO Yamaha Factory Racing 1’56.685
2 Cal CRUTCHLOW Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1’56.743
3 Valentino ROSSI Yamaha Factory Racing 1’56.756
4 Marc MARQUEZ Repsol Honda Team 1’57.276
5 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Ducati Team 1’57.538
6 Alvaro BAUTISTA GO&FUN Honda Gresini 1’57.601
7 Stefan BRADL LCR Honda MotoGP 1’57.670
8 Dani PEDROSA Repsol Honda Team 1’57.749
9 Aleix ESPARGARO Power Electronics Aspar 1’57.843
10 Nicky HAYDEN Ducati Team 1’57.926
11 Bradley SMITH Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1’58.369
12 Andrea IANNONE Energy T.I. Pramac Racing 1’58.559
13 Ben SPIES Ignite Pramac Racing 1’58.575
14 Hector BARBERA Avintia Blusens 1’59.608
15 Randy DE PUNIET Power Electronics Aspar 1’59.633
16 Karel ABRAHAM Cardion AB Motoracing 1’59.758
17 Colin EDWARDS NGM Mobile Forward Racing 2’00.341
18 Yonny HERNANDEZ Paul Bird Motorsport 2’00.426
19 Hiroshi AOYAMA Avintia Blusens 2’00.563
20 Claudio CORTI NGM Mobile Forward Racing 2’01.227
21 Danilo PETRUCCI Came IodaRacing Project 2’01.438
22 Bryan STARING GO&FUN Honda Gresini 2’01.942
23 Lukas PESEK Came IodaRacing Project 2’02.079
24 Michael LAVERTY Paul Bird Motorsport 2’02.135

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s