Sofuoglu takes first WSS win of the year from Lowes

Lowes has been dominant all weekend, however the 2012
Champ had something to say about that come race day

Kenan Sofuoglu has shown just how speed in qualifying is not everything as he takes the first World Supersport win of the year from Lowes who had dominated the entirety of qualifying and free practice. Lowes did not make it easy for the Turk, who got the holeshot from PATA Honda rookie Michael van der Mark after a delayed start due to asphalt issues.

The two constantly swapped positions throughout, Lowes would pass the Kawasaki mid-lap however the Mahi Racing ZX6R demonstrating superior speed on the home straight into turn 1 as Sofuoglu kept coming back. MV Augusta’s Robbie Rolfo had shown good pace initially however retired with a technical problem with 2 laps to go. PATA Honda’s Michael van der Mark took the last slot on the podium in his WSS debut.

It was a good showing for the Kawasaki ZX6R, with 5 of them in the top 7, Sofuoglu’s team mate Foret was 4th followed by the Intermoto Kawasaki pairing of Davide Salom and Luca Scassa. The fifth Kawasaki in the top 7 was in the form of Andrea Antonelli. PATA Honda’s Lorenzo Zanetti took 8th place from Massimo Roccoli in 9th. Ireland’s Jack Kennedy, who had run as high as 4th at one point finished 10th in his debut world supersport race.

Post race, Lowes said: “Kenan been catching up and catching up, always knew he would be there in the race. Didn’t quite go my way today, but it will be an exciting season”

Sofuoglu: “I  have never worked as hard in my life to catch Sam Lowes up, finally, this morning in warm up we had a solution”.

Results below.
1. Kenan Sofuoglu – Kawasaki
2. Sam Lowes – Yamaha
3. Michael van der Mark – Honda
4. Fabien Foret – Kawasaki
5. Davide Salom – Kawasaki
6. Luca Scassa – Kawasaki
7. Andrea Antonelli – Kawasaki
8. Lorenzo Zanetti – Honda
9. Massimo Roccoli Yamaha
10. Jack Kennedy – Honda
11. Vladimir Ivanov – Yamaha
12. L Marconi – Honda
13. R Tamburini – Suzuki
14. M Scholtz – Suzuki
15. A Baldolini – Honda 
16. M Carr – Triumph
17. J Hook – Honda
18. Kev Coghlan – Kawasaki
19. N Calero Perez – Honda
20. M Davies – Honda
21. Christian Iddon – MV Augusta
22. I Toth – Honda


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s