WSS: Lowes on pole after time untouchable in QP2

Only Lowes came close to beating his own time from QP1,
and even he couldn’t manage it.

Photo: WorldSBK

Yakhnich Yamaha’s Sam Lowes has claimed the first Supersport pole position of the year with a spectacular time of 1’32.545 set in yesterdays Q1 session that despite coming close, even the Lincolnshireman could not beat himself in todays final qualification. Until a few minutes to go, it looked at is Lowes could be over a second faster than second place man Kenan Sofuoglu, however the 3 time champion managed to reduce the gap to around 0.6 of a second with a 1’33.157.

It could very well be a two-horse race tomorrow, as third placed Fabien Foret was over half a second behind Mahi Kawasaki team mate Sofugolu. A stunning debut qualifying performance from PATA Honda rookie Michael van der Mark put him in fourth, ahead of an equally stunning debut from Irishman Jack Kennedy who put his Rivamoto Honda into 5th.

Davide Salom put in the 6th fastest time on his Intermoto Kawasaki, the 2011 runner up returning to WSS after a year in WSB with Pedercini. The MV Augusta F3 of Rolfo was 7th in an impressive first time out for the Italian machine. Antontelli was 8th with Kev Coghlan putting his ZX6R Kawasaki into 9th in yet another superb WSS debut. Lorenzo Zanetti rounded out the top 10.

Times below

  1. Sam Lowes  Yamaha  1’32.545
  2. Kenan Sofuoglu  Kawasaki   1’33.157
  3. Fabien Foret    Kawasaki    1’33.721
  4. Michael van der Mark  Honda    1’33.802
  5. Jack Kennedy   Honda    1’33.896
  6. David Salom    Kawasaki    1’33.965
  7. Roberto Rolfo   MV Agusta   1’34.495
  8. Andrea Antonelli    Kawasaki   1’34.359  
  9. Kev Coghlan   Kawasaki   1’34.393
  10. Lorenzo Zanetti    Honda    1’34.465
  11. Massimo Roccoli    Yamaha    1’34.466
  12. Vladimir Leonov  Yamaha    1’34.536
  13. Christian Iddon    MV Agusta    1’34.551 
  14. Kevin Curtain    Yamaha    1’34.557
  15. Vladimir Ivanov    Kawasaki    1’34.580
  16. Fabio Menghi    Yamaha    1’34.620
  17. David Linortner    Honda    1’34.635
  18. Balazs Nemeth   Honda  1’34.677
  19. Raffaele de Rosa    Honda  1’34.778
  20. Luca Scassa   Kawasaki   1’34.813


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s